#ABoyandHisDogAttheEndoftheWorld #BlogTour #CAFletcher #BookReview #FollowGriz

40698027

Hello lovelies! Welcome to my stop on the blog tour – I would like to give a huge thanks to Tracey Fenton for having me.

Blurb from the book:

When a beloved family dog is stolen, her owner sets out on a life-changing journey through the ruins of our world to bring her back in this fiercely compelling tale of survival, courage, and hope. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and The Girl With All the Gifts.

My name’s Griz. My childhood wasn’t like yours. I’ve never had friends, and in my whole life I’ve not met enough people to play a game of football.

My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.

Then the thief came.

There may be no law left except what you make of it. But if you steal my dog, you can at least expect me to come after you.

Because if we aren’t loyal to the things we love, what’s the point?

My review:

I’m not sure if I can actually do this book justice with my meagre review but I will bloomin well try. In this magnificent story we follow Griz who takes on the most epic journey to save his beloved stolen dog Jess. For anyone who has a bond with their furry companion be it dog or cat it’s not too far a stretch to imagine yourself going to the ends of the earth to do what you need to for them.

This is a post apocalyptic story where fertility is scarce and finding a good canine companion even more so. So when a traveller comes to Griz and his family on a little island off the coast of Scotland (where seeing other people is just unheard of) Griz is fascinated by his charming visitor Brand. Griz’s world is incredibly small. He lives with his mother, father, sister Bar and brother Ferg and his 2 dogs Jess and Jip, so any new face is something to be fascinated by.

Brand tells them tall tales of where he has been and offers a trade; a dog for a much needed windmill converter. Brand is gently but firmly turned down and at first takes it with good grace and offers them a parting drink and a treat of marmalade (which is so rare it’s a mere fairy tale to Griz and his family).

Waking up in a nauseous fog the next morning Griz realises that Brand has drugged his family and stolen food, belongings and his beautiful Jess. Without pausing to stop Griz heads out in his boat Sweethope and his other dog Jip.

Oh my heart! This has now become my top read of 2019. Fletcher is an author to watch, I can honestly say that I’ve not been blown away by a book like this in some time.

What is such a beautiful simplistic storyline becomes so so much more. Griz meets several people on his travels (but due to a vastly diminished population he’s fortunate to see anyone at all). In meeting them he sees both the beauty and ugliness in humanity and what being human means to different people.

I was gripped by Fletcher’s world. The descriptions of a world in which is being very quickly reclaimed by nature was incredible to read. People have to scavenge to survive and in doing so can become something that we would all like to think we wouldn’t.

I adored Griz and became incredibly invested in him. He was a noble narrator and in his journey he observed and became introspective as to why he took a certain course of action (or didn’t act when he should have).

One of the most important messages that Fletcher leaves us with is this: even when all seems lost, when you think that you have nothing more to fight for it doesn’t mean you have to lose who you are and more importantly to show kindness and love in the face of hatred and evil.

Fletcher has managed to encapsulate both extremes of humanity in one story: that of loyalty, love and friendship juxtaposed with treachery, deceit and violence. In doing so you get all the feels of the emotional spectrum in this book.

Anyone who is an animal lover will immediately connect with the beautiful bond that Griz has with his dogs. The relationship is so pure and beautiful it literally brought me to tears and made me wish that every animal has a Griz for them out there.

I may have made this obvious by now, but this is a blinding 5 star read for me.

You can purchase your copy here: Amazon

About the Author:

C. A. Fletcher

C. A. Fletcher has children and dogs. He lives in Scotland and writes for a living. Follow him on twitter at @CharlieFletch_r or find out more about A BOY AND HIS DOG AT THE END OF THE WORLD here: http://www.orbitbooks.net/a-boy-and-his-dog/

Please follow the other fabulous bloggers on the tour with me:

 

One thought on “#ABoyandHisDogAttheEndoftheWorld #BlogTour #CAFletcher #BookReview #FollowGriz

  1. Pingback: This Week’s New Book Releases And Reviews – 2019/17 – Swift Coffee

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s